Friendship Cities and Provinces

A list of Norwegian and Chinese friendship cities and provinces:

Guangdong and Rogaland

An agreement between Guangdong Province and Rogaland County was signed April 12 2010 on cooperation in several fields, such as technology, energy, innovation and food culture.

Telemark and Hubei; Sør-Trøndelag and Chongqing

Telemark County signed an agreement with Hubei Province in 2005. Sør-Trøndelag County and Chongqing Province also signed an agreement the same year. Both agreements focus on trade cooperation within energy and environment.

Ningbo and Stavanger

Ningbo, Zhejiang Province, and Stavanger, Rogaland County, signed a friendship agreement in the summer of 2004. The agreement includes both cultural exchange and business, and the latter part focuses on energy (oil and gas) and environment (water, waste treatment and pollution control).

Oslo and Shanghai

Shanghai and Oslo signed a friendship agreement in Shanghai 8 November 2001. The focus is on environmental and cultural cooperation. Schools from the two cities have also established contact.

Jiaxing and Sandefjord

Jiaxing City of China’s Zhejiang province and Sandefjord in Vestfold, Norway, signed a friendship agreement in May 2001. The agreement establishes exchange and cooperation in many fields, especially in those of education and environmental protection and technology, the latter focusing on improving conditions of both water, soil, and air.

Fredrikstad and Zhuzhou

Fredrikstad and Zhuzhou, Hunan province, signed a twin town agreement in 1999 after establishing contact in 1995. The two citites also signed agreements on student and competence exchange and culture. Also, two elementary schools - one in Zhuzhou and one in Fredrikstad - signed an agreement on friendship cooperation.

Bergen and Dalian

An agreement on cooperation was signed on the 23rd of May 2010, marking the beginning of a partnership between the Norwegian municipality of Bergen and the Chinese municipality of Dalian.


Bookmark and Share